This project is read-only.

Skin Template Workings

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
May 8, 2008 at 7:44 PM
I'm a very experienced developer and am baffled as to how the .skin file is used to insert the 'Top' and 'Bottom' TemplatedContent in this apps architecture.

The MS documentation/samples, etc on Themes/Skins say you can only apply 'skin' styling to Themeable attributes.

The <cc1:TemplatedContent runat="server" SkinID="Top"> in the .skins files appear to be very similar to adding a control on a normal page but it's a skin file? The TemplatedContent has fully defined controls embedded in it, again defying all documentation I read for what goes in a .skin file..

Can someone point me to help file/page/blog I have not found?

May 8, 2008 at 8:03 PM
Hi
The skinfile contains a TemplateContent with an id top and bottom.
Between these the content are rendered(where the sections are going). In Site.master, <asp:ContentPlaceHolder ID="mainContent" runat="server"></asp:ContentPlaceHolder> is where the sections are loaded.
You can only add controls add html in <ContentTemplate>.

The TemplatedContent is a UserControl(Composite) as same as you add a regular usercontrol, the diffrens is that this control is a holder of other controls for eg a Menu and your html.

You can read the post I did earlier and see if it makes any sense to you: http://www.codeplex.com/MyWebPagesStarterKit/WorkItem/View.aspx?WorkItemId=15307

Let me know if I you need more help.
May 9, 2008 at 12:52 PM
Thanks for the quick response but I have inferred all you state above by looking at the code. It hasn't taken me this long to figure out how something was done in quite awhile.

My problem/question is how did you know (documentation) relating to using the technique of adding content from within a .skin file. I'm not necessarily looking to change things I'm wanting to learn about this technique of adding content from a .skin file.