Adding SQL capability - bad idea? If not best way?

Topics: Developer Forum
Nov 15, 2006 at 2:43 AM
Your package is terrific. It has saved me a ton of work.

However, I need to have a database table that can be sorted based on a users request in multiple ways. (Name, weight, ID, age, etc.)

I'm thinking my best solution is to add sql
capability to the site.

I am a newbie on the internet, visual web developer, etc.

My queston is what I want to do a viable option or is there a better way to go.

If it is a viable option what approach would you recommend.

Thanks for any assistance you may provide
Coordinator
Nov 15, 2006 at 8:42 AM
Hi,

The fact that the MWPSK is not using a database does not mean that you can't add database access code and a SQL DB in order to implement your own extension. But of course you will end up with a solution, which is storing some data in files in /App_Data and some in your SQL Server database.

Because the whole kit is aligned with ASP.NET 2.0 concepts you may simply add the connection string entry to the web.config file and then create your own controls, which are accessing your database. Basically you can learn about database access in any ASP.NET 2.0 book or other exemples and then apply this to the MWPSK.

Actually, something like a reservation system is much easier to do with a real database in the background...
Nov 15, 2006 at 2:32 PM
Thanks very much for the info.

Another question, if I may.

I would like to add the sql capability so that it fits as seamlessly as possible into your system.

Primarily so that it is reflected in the navigation that is generated by your system. The menus.

I was thinking I may be able to do that with Visual Web Developer using your "User Control" section or possibly your "HTML" section.

Another thought was to have the sql table show up on the Home page.

Hope this makes sense.

Any specific suggestions you may have would be appreciated.

Thanks
Coordinator
Nov 15, 2006 at 7:54 PM